1. OpenSRF 3.2.0

OpenSRF 3.2.0 was released on 2 October 2019. This release adds support for Debian 10 Buster and deprecates the Apache mod_websocket backend for the WebSockets gateway but does not add new features.

1.1. Major Changes

1.1.1. Support for Debian 10 Buster (LP#1835458)

OpenSRF 3.2 adds support for Debian 10 Buster. Debian 10 comes with ejabberd 18.12 (as compared to ejabberd 16.09 in Debian 9), which means that a mod_legacy_auth directive will need to be uncommented or added to the ejabberd configuration. However, Debian 10 is otherwise not significantly different from Debian 9 as far as OpenSRF is concerned.

1.1.2. Removal of Support for mod_websocket (LP#1834208)

OpenSRF 3.2 formally removes support for using the Apache mod_websocket module to act as the WebSockets gateway to OpenSRF in favor of requiring websocketed. OpenSRF 3.2 also includes tweaks to the example NGINX and HAProxy configurations.

Folks upgrading from previous versions of OpenSRF who are using mod_websocket should follow the instructions for installing websocketd, then stop remove the apache2-websockets Apache instance before starting websocketd.

1.1.3. Removal of Variable Arguments for md5sum() (LP#1830642)

The md5sum() utility function included in OpenSRF’s C code no longer accepts variadic arguments, fixing a bug in Evergreen where a percent in a user password could prevent authentication from working.

1.2. Upgrade Notes

OpenSRF 3.2 introduces changes to the application binary interface (ABI) for C applications. Consequently, Evergreen users should plan on recompiling Evergreen after installing OpenSRF 3.2.

Users of NGINX or HAProxy should review the example configuration files (respectively examples/nginx/osrf-ws-http-proxy or examples/haproxy/osrf-ws-http-proxy) and make adjustments to their production configuration accordingly.

1.3. Evergreen Compatibility

OpenSRF 3.2 can be used by Evergreen 3.1.x, 3.2.x, 3.3.x, and 3.4.x.

1.4. Acknowledgements

We would like to thank the following people who contributed to OpenSRF 3.2.0:

  • Jason Boyer

  • Galen Charlton

  • Jeff Davis

  • Bill Erickson

  • Ben Shum

  • Jason Stephenson